Barry M That’s Swell Lip Plumping Gloss Review

Hello!

When I saw Barry M announce their new lip plumping gloss on Instagram I immediately became excited and made a mental note to pick one up next time I was out shopping. I love Barry M products, and I had been in need of a clear lip gloss so I thought if it doesn’t work I’ll still get my use of it.

Barry M that's swell lip plumping gloss

The product aims to “stimulate the skin’s natural collagen” for “softer” and “toned” lips.

This retails at ยฃ4.99, so it is rather purse friendly compared to other more expensive lip plumpers on the market. I love the gold packaging, and the doe foot applicator makes the gloss easy to apply. Currently this only comes in a clear shade – maybe they will release a few different colours in the future.ย The only thing that I don’t like about clear lip glosses is the fact that they can easily get dirty if your lips aren’t 100% clean. Anyone else get freaked out by this haha?

Anyway, the smell of this makes me feel really nostalgic. The sweet, minty fragrance smells exactly like candy/rock you get at the seaside!

Barry M that's swell lip plumping gloss

I know a lot of lip plumping products can create an uncomfortable tingling sensation once applied, but with this I didn’t experience much which was nice. Sometimes I can feel a little tingle, other times I don’t get any at all, but when I do it is really faint and barely noticeable.

Now for the main part – does this work? I think the shiny gloss does create the illusion of a bigger lip, but I don’t think it necessarily makes your lips feel a lot bigger. It probably worked better for me because my lips are naturally on the fuller side, so if you have thinner lips then this may not be as effective. I found this performed better under a lipstick (as shown in the photo below) and this helped to make my lips look a little more plumped.

barry m that's swell lip plumping gloss 2
Left – Bare lips, Middle – 10 minutes after the lip gloss was applied, Right – the gloss with lipstick over.

Overall this was fun to try out and experiment with, but I don’t think I’d repurchase it.

Have you ever tried lip plumping products? Did they work for you?

As always, thank you so much for reading, and have a lovely day!

Laura

ย x

Instagram

 

10 thoughts on “Barry M That’s Swell Lip Plumping Gloss Review

    1. I hope it works for you if you decide to try it! I read a few people said it didn’t do much for them but I found it plumped mine a little bit though! I think it depends on your expectations ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I splurged a few months ago and treated myself to the Too Faced lip plumper, and the price tag was so hefty. I didn’t see great results, but this seems nice. Especially since it is so affordable! Even if it may not make a huge impact on the lips, it does make the lips look fuller since it is gloss. Definitely going to hunt this out and give it a shot! Great post!

    Ashlee Stuart
    http://www.ashleestuart.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a shame the Too Faced one didn’t work that well as you would expect it to with it being more expensive! I agree, I think using the gloss with lipstick really helps to make the lips look more plumped too. I hope it works for you if you decide to give it a go. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

